Wednesday, June 3, 2020

North Dakota students honored at National Ceremony for the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards on June 4, 2020

North Dakota Students Announced as 2020 National Scholastic Art & Writing Award Recipients

FARGO, ND — June 3, 2020 — The Red River Valley Writing Project at NDSU and Plains Art Museum announce the national award recipients of the 2020 Scholastic Art & Writing Awards. Presented by the nonprofit organization the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers, the 96th Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the country's longest-running and most prestigious scholarship and recognition program for creative students in grades 7–12. Tune in to the National Ceremony at 5pm CT on Thursday, June 4th here:

Olivia Slyter from Valley City Junior/Senior High School won a Gold Medal for her critical essay “Blaze.” Olivia Drake, a student at Davies High School in Fargo, ND won a Gold Medal and the American Voices Award for her short story, “Freedom Lives.” Deanna Rose, a home-schooled student from Grand Forks, ND, won a Silver Medal in drawing and illustration for “The Circus of Psyche,” and Lee Nguyen of Sheyenne High School in West Fargo, ND won a Gold Medal and American Visions Award for his painting, “Tôi.”

Students also won scholarships from NDSU. The two $1500 art scholarship winners were: Olivia Propeck (Fargo - Fargo South High School) and Marissa Philipp (Horace, ND - Sheyenne High School). Eve Jacobs of Saint Michael, ND was awarded a $600 scholarship from the NDSU English Department.

Since the program’s founding in 1923, the Awards have fostered the creativity and talent of millions of students, including renowned alumni who have gone on to become leaders in their fields, including Andy Warhol, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Philip Pearlstein, and Sylvia Plath. More recently, Stephen King, Richard Linklater, and Zac Posen, received Scholastic Art & Writing Awards when they were teens. Locally, Laura Youngbird, Director of Native American Art at Plains Art Museum, was a Scholastic teen award winner. This year’s national ceremony will include guest appearances from alumni Lena Dunham, Chris Cofer, and Jennifer Garner. Usually the national ceremony takes place at Carnegie Hall, but because of Covid-19, it will be streamed online, and anyone can attend!

For more information about the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers and the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards, visit the Scholastic News Room:

No comments:

Post a Comment